There’s nothing better than discovering a sizzling pool-side page turner for your summer holiday; below are the new book releases we are pre-ordering and packing...

Words Helen Brown

Miss You, by Kate Eberlen

Eberlen’s debut novel tells the tale of Tess and Gus; two teens that are meant to be. They just haven’t met properly yet. For one day, their paths cross before they return to England from holidays in Florence. Over the course of the next sixteen years, life and love will offer them very different challenges. Separated by distance and fate, there’s no way the two of them are ever going to meet each other properly. But sometimes fate can turn.

£10.99, Amazon

5 New Book Releases to Pack for your Summer Holiday

The Stolen Girls, by Patricia Gibney

If you were gripped by Gone Girl, you’ll love this. One Monday morning, the body of a young pregnant woman is found. The same day, a mother and her son visit the house of Detective Lottie Parker, begging for help to find a lost friend. Could this be the same girl? When a second victim is discovered by the same man, with the murder bearing all the same hallmarks as the first, Lottie needs to work fast to discover how else the two were linked. Then two more girls go missing. Detective Lottie Parker is a woman on the edge. Can she fight her own demons and catch the killer before he claims another victim? The Stolen Girls is a gripping and page-turning thriller that will leave you breathless.

Pre-order here

Into the Water, by Paula Hawkins

The most hotly anticipated novel of the year, from the author of the best-selling novel The Girl on the Train is a pool-side scorcher. Hawkins’ next venture is a suspenseful story of two sisters and the deceptiveness of human emotion and memory. Hawkins’ prose manages to put a fresh spin on an age-old story of family secrets and their devastating effects. From a writer proven to have a masterful touch when it comes to atmospheric dread.

£20, Waterstones

5 New Book Releases to Pack for your Summer Holiday

Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate

Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale. Based on one of America’s most notorious real-life scandals—in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organisation, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country—Wingate’s riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong.

Pre-order here

The Lost Letter, by Jillian Cantor

A heart-breaking, heart-warming historical novel of love and survival inspired by real resistance workers during World War II Austria, and the mysterious love letter that connects generations of Jewish families. For readers of The Nightingale, Lilac Girls, and Sarah’s Key.

Pre-order here

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here